09
Dec
08

The addiction was so Monsta that he’s purchased the prize…

Veit from Germany explains how he figured his soundtrack out (read while listening): “The track is called “Minimonsta Saves The World” and consists of several parts named: 1) Intro: 2008, 2) Part1: Synthopia, 3) Interlude. Research, 4) Part2: Flash Mobs, 5) Part3: Minimonsta Plays The World, 6) Part4: Salvation.  So I wanted to really use the Minimonsta as the main device on the track. It should be as it’s the protagonist of the story and the way I made the track I would say I kinda produced a demo track for myself. So I took your advice and used the opportunity to try out the Minimonsta. Unfortunately the demo time ran out long before I got even closed to finishing the track so I had to buy the PlugIn. Totally worth the prize. Since Emagic introduced sculpture, no software instrument fascinated me like this one. As I think 42 is a great number, I used exactly 42 instances of the Minimonsta in the track. It’s the only PlugIn I used for tonal sounds. Apart from drums and sound effects, I used only Minimonsta. I tried to use as few as possible modulating effects to stay pure Minimonsta so on the Minimonsta’s tracks there’s only four processing PlugIns: One Instance of each: Ohmicide, OhmBoyz, U-He Filterscape and Logics internal Rotor Cabinet. Apart from that I just used some equalizers and compressors (both metric halo channel strip), one instance of space designer on a bus, another one on the industrial beat and a biiiiig master limiter on the sum (you can hear that). Ah yes and the filter on the sum in last part is frOHMage of course. The overall sound quality is not really great, my mixmaster didn’t have time, or, better said, I didn’t get finished soon enough so I did some rough adjustments and that’s it. I’m thinking about making a “Minimonsta Saves The World EP” from it with more musically arranged parts and a proper mixdown but who knows if that will ever happen…”

51 Responses to “The addiction was so Monsta that he’s purchased the prize…”


  1. 1 Andrea
    December 9, 2008 at 20:54

    yeeeey! really really really like this track! i LOVE the development, quite image-inducing, and makes a cool match with the comic story 🙂 wow! i really enjoy that contagious dominant melody in Minimonsta Plays The World! definitely one of my favs in this cohmpetition 😀

    greets – p

  2. 2 Andrea
    December 9, 2008 at 20:58

    ah, you already got the minimonsta :)))) knew it!

    yep, you and your crazy affection for the Minimoogs 😀

  3. December 10, 2008 at 07:32

    Hey Veit,
    well, quite good song you produced. It’s sounds very interesting. Maybe it would be a nice (short) interlude for a porcupine-tree-track.

  4. December 11, 2008 at 12:39

    Hey surphaze,

    I love the song because it matches quite well to the story of the comic!
    Well done!
    It is my favourite song in the Minimonsta Competition…

    Good Luck!!!

    greets – F

  5. 5 volker
    December 11, 2008 at 22:40

    to say it in borats words:

    i like, high five, i like…

    well done, dude. some kind of electronic music with a lort of different sonds… you did your job quite good. hope you get it 😉

  6. December 12, 2008 at 01:18

    well done!! if i had known this competion… ok, next time… 😉

  7. 7 Christian
    December 12, 2008 at 03:12

    Very nice! You really can see the comic strip in your mind, when you’re hearing the song! 🙂

  8. December 12, 2008 at 06:04

    Thanks for the nice words!

    @ Hannes: still don’t get how you connect this to Porcupine Tree – but Linda said the same so there must be something about it. Gets me to the point that I should check out their older works:-)

    @ Kabelton: I mentioned the cOHMpetition in our forums. Register at http://www.toningenieur-graz.at/forum to stay up to date:-)

    cheers,

    V

  9. 9 Lynna
    December 12, 2008 at 06:12

    YEAH, great!! you´re building a nice and interesting multisided soundscape!!!
    like hannes already said it also evokes in me a small bit of porcupinetree and captain future but in beeing something completely new!!!
    thumbs up, well done!!!

  10. 10 Chris
    December 12, 2008 at 07:46

    Great track! !!!
    Very good mix too.

  11. 11 Matthias
    December 12, 2008 at 10:57

    Great work!!!
    The part “Minimonsta Plays The World” reminds me of a soundtrack of some movie or game. But I don’t know which one. I’ll tell you if it comes to my mind.

  12. 12 donkeyshot
    December 12, 2008 at 11:51

    Hey,

    Really like the song. Fits perfectly well to the comic. In terms of atmosphere it reminds me a lot of Stanislaw Lem’s Star Diaries. Well done!
    C

  13. 13 HMC
    December 12, 2008 at 12:04

    cool – sounds even on the o300
    only heavy guitars are missing… 😉

  14. 14 Tomi
    December 12, 2008 at 17:26

    Well done! Weiter so. I like the Trumpet 🙂

  15. December 13, 2008 at 05:44

    @Chris:
    you’re kidding me about the mix, right:-)

    @Matthias:
    Bassline and the saw-chords have a very slight resamblence to one of the Mario Kart music tracks. Could that be it…?

    @HMC:
    Could still add some heavy guitars, could match at least for the first half. You hit the strings!

    @Tomi: The trumpet melody was a special guest composition by Emil Hasiba:-)

    greetz,

    V

  16. 16 dorabach
    December 13, 2008 at 09:50

    Well done! I love the track because it fits quite well to the story of the comic!

    Reminds me of some movie soundtracks.

  17. 17 Dorothea
    December 13, 2008 at 09:59

    Comic and Music for a better world i hope.

  18. 18 loui
    December 13, 2008 at 17:30

    woah, dude, nice track!

    looking forward to hearing the ep… :>

    the L

  19. 19 Charly Basileus
    December 14, 2008 at 09:49

    if this music is your only friend, you’re a little bit too lonesome

  20. 20 Henning
    December 14, 2008 at 11:25

    wow – i didn’t hear this kind of sound for a long time. lets say 20 years 😉 somehow parts of the piece remind me a bit of Jean Michel Jarre, though you’ve introduced more recent styles and rhythms and created your own thing. really well done! maybe the intro could have a better connection to rest, but what do i know???

  21. 21 Ben
    December 14, 2008 at 15:48

    hej,
    veit, formely known as andromeda lover, is now virtual analog on his way – but how cares about technology ? – nobody should: sounds great!

    jag tycker om din track jättemycket!

    greetings from sthlm
    ben

  22. 22 Simohn
    December 14, 2008 at 17:21

    Hey Veit!

    Awesome track. Love hoe it builds up towards the fast, oldschool-part. Really nice what you got out of the plugins. I can virtually see you standing in some sort of basement with 3 synths and a drummachine… looking forward for more!

    greets

  23. 23 Lidija
    December 14, 2008 at 17:54

    Dear Veit

    what a beautiful track! Reminded me of the time when I used to listen to Jean Michel Jarre, Emerson Lake and Palmer and the wonderful Rick Wakeman. The sound genuinely resembles the original Minimoog!

    Regards

  24. December 14, 2008 at 17:58

    @dorabach:
    my next track will be on the topic “Minimonsta fights for environmental protection”…

    @loui:
    The EP will feature Zeitwerk v0.01b 😉

    @Charlie Basileus:
    I have other friends as well. They are called Champi, Minimonsta, Bed, Hot Chocolate, Quicksilver, … many guys to spend a great time with 🙂

    @Henning: first CD I bought with my own money was JMJ… maybe I have some childhood issues with Synth Pop 😀

    @Ben
    Tack för er Kommentar

    @Simohn:
    It will rather be 3 laptops running 14 instances of Minimonsta each.

    V

  25. 25 Tamara
    December 14, 2008 at 18:29

    Hi!

    well, I prefer goa and chill, but your track is really nice (-: I like the development!

    tamtam

  26. 26 Nena
    December 14, 2008 at 18:31

    Hi Veit 🙂

    nice track!

    have fun!

  27. 27 Simona
    December 14, 2008 at 18:34

    the song doesn´t match my style but it was fun listening to it!

  28. 28 Jasmina
    December 14, 2008 at 18:37

    Wow! I´m completely surprised from your track! I like it! Respect 🙂 Andrea never told me you make such good music. Well, now I know 😛

    J

  29. 29 pistol p
    December 14, 2008 at 21:59

    wow, i should definitely have a closer look at this minimaximonsta…those sounds are amazing. thumbs up for the track!

  30. 30 alex
    December 14, 2008 at 22:01

    Hey. I just listened to this track and i really liked it a lot.

  31. 31 basti
    December 14, 2008 at 22:04

    sounds funky! Good job!
    I like the spherical and machine-like sounds at the beginning very much. I only missed a thrashy sounding 80’s snare in the middle part 😉

    Good luck for the competition!

  32. 32 graues neutral
    December 14, 2008 at 22:07

    cool. nicely done.

  33. 33 Christl
    December 14, 2008 at 23:38

    minimonster rules!!
    you have done a great job,
    congratulations!

  34. 34 L:M:M
    December 15, 2008 at 02:34

    well done, i like it 🙂
    cool sounds!

  35. 35 D:T:K
    December 15, 2008 at 03:14

    more… PLEASE… i want more of this stuff! I’m already waiting for the Minimonsta-EP 🙂

  36. December 15, 2008 at 06:58

    @Lidija:
    yei, second reference to JMJ

    @the other girls from the east with the names ending on a:
    you were sitting all together when you listened to it, right?

    @pistol p:
    you totally should. I promise you will like that plug. There’s a 50% student discount:-)

    @basti:
    nice idea. I will feature you playing the reverb on the minimonsta EP.

    @Christl: Was nice to talk to you again after quite some time.

    @L:M:M / D:T:K:
    I think I know who you are. Just the T… wonder what it stands for. Didn’t know you had a second name.

    @everybody else: thanks for all the nice comments:-)

    V

  37. 37 Kaykay
    December 15, 2008 at 08:46

    Usually i don’t like this kind of music… but this song is just great!!!
    Well done!

    K.

  38. 38 irenerene
    December 15, 2008 at 12:29

    Watch out for the minimonsta! Here it comes! nice done.
    irenerene

  39. December 16, 2008 at 03:54

    Yei:-)

    Made 4th place in this cOHMpetition:-)
    Infos:
    https://ohmforce.wordpress.com/2008/12/15/minimonsta-cohmpetition-winners/

    Thanks again to all Commenters!

    V

  40. 40 Lolle
    December 16, 2008 at 15:27

    Minimonsta rulez.

  41. October 12, 2013 at 13:12

    Therefore, the selection should observe Spec that are appropriate
    for OS and Software or Application that supports OS that should
    be enough to satisfy demand in the US, before tthe
    Android playlist Flash but now can play. Thats MUCH less than the Xoom,which makes
    the Iconia a much more attractive offering. Preempting the possibility tat your tablet might be lost or stolen, you can also specify some owner information that can be displayed on
    the lock screen, such as your name and telephone number.

  42. December 5, 2013 at 09:26

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.

    I’m quite certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!

    Good luck for the next!
    http://androidon.ru/archives/982

  43. December 5, 2013 at 09:36

    Thanks for your article. My spouse and i have continually observed that the
    majority of people are wanting to lose weight because they wish to appear slim along with attractive.
    Having said that, they do not continually realize that
    there are more benefits for you to losing weight as well.
    Doctors declare that overweight people are afflicted with a variety of diseases that can
    be instantly attributed to the excess weight. Fortunately that people
    who definitely are overweight in addition to suffering from various diseases can reduce
    the severity of the illnesses by means of losing weight.
    It is easy to see a continuous but identifiable improvement in health
    while even a slight amount of fat loss is obtained.

  44. December 14, 2013 at 08:08

    One other issue is that if you are in a predicament where you would not have a co-signer then you may genuinely wish
    to try to exhaust all of your school funding options. You will discover many grants and other scholarship grants that will ensure
    that you get finances to aid with school expenses.
    Thanks alot : ) for the post.

  45. December 14, 2013 at 15:54

    What a data of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious know-how
    on the topic of unpredicted feelings.

  46. December 15, 2013 at 03:54

    Appreciating the time and energy you put into your site and detailed information you
    provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

  47. December 15, 2013 at 10:49

    An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do think that you should publish more about this subject, it may not be
    a taboo subject but generally people do not discuss these topics.

    To the next! All the best!!

  48. December 15, 2013 at 19:19

    I hardly leave a response, however i did a few searching and wound up here The addiction was
    so Monsta that he’s purchased the prize… |. And I actually do have some questions for you if you usually do not mind.
    Is it just me or does it look like some of these comments appear like they are left by
    brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing at other
    online social sites, I’d like to keep up with everything new
    you have to post. Would you list of every one of your public sites like your linkedin profile,
    Facebook page or twitter feed?

  49. December 15, 2013 at 20:47

    If you don’t see a huge return, test the other side of the coin, hire
    a professional company and outsource your work.
    More possible clients will be aware of your venture’s existence since it has wider reach and you can connect to several individuals in the
    different parts of the world. Now, a lot of novices may ask
    around the different solutions provided by an excellent SEO UNITED STATES company.

  50. February 28, 2014 at 15:43

    You actually make it appear so easy along
    with your presentation however I find this topic to be really something which I think I might never understand.
    It sort of feels too complicated and extremely wide for me.
    I’m having a look forward on your subsequent
    post, I’ll try to get the dangle of it!

  51. July 10, 2014 at 22:58

    It is appropriate time to make some plans for the long run and it is time too be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting issues or suggestions.
    Maybe you could write subsequent articles relating
    to this article. I wish to learn more issues about it!


Leave a Reply

