21
Dec
10

Hy2rogen and the Ohm Force plug-ins

If you dig tech-house and progressive house you may have already heard about Hy2roGen, either because his groovy tunes have already been released on more than 10 different labels, or because of his much sought after sample packs for electronic music producers. He has been praised for resisting the temptation to over-produce his tracks and loops, giving them β€œonly” warm and attitude – having created a hot-and-tight sound signature. Now guess what plug-in collection you’ll find in his sound mangling setup? You’re right, he owns all the Ohm Force plug-ins – and together with SoundsToSample authorized us to spread his audio pieces in the ohmworld: post a comment to this blog post explaining why you deserve to win a free copy of his “Tech-House Song Starters”, “Main Room FX” and “Progressive Tools 3” sample packs. Hy2rogen himself will choose the best 3 comments during January’s second half!

23 Responses to “Hy2rogen and the Ohm Force plug-ins”


  1. 1 K Sandvik
    December 22, 2010 at 18:54

    Because I want to run the loops backwards or even more twisted with Ohm plugins and then write a simple pop song on top of it all.

  2. 2 Niels de Groot
    December 22, 2010 at 19:05

    As I’ve only started producing music quite recently it has taken me a little time to find my musical direction.

    Now after getting into some serious audio mangling and taking the electro-house and progressive influences to a more drum and bass / experimental side of music, I’m very much looking for some usable sounds to get me started.

  3. December 22, 2010 at 19:06

    Because…I’m the oldest rocker this side of the Yucatan, I fart like a Siberian water buffalo, am about as attractive as a lizards armpit, and on top of that I’ve been cursed with this freaking loco disorder of Audio Mangleitus… What hope is there?

  4. December 22, 2010 at 19:08

    well I’m not sure, but something like this might just be enough to stave of old-fuddy-ness for this musical dinosaur! The thing is, my best friend’s son is an up and coming techno artist, and it has kindled an interest for me. The idea of a song starter pack is very intriguing! I’ve owned Acid since V1, but have to admit to achieving less than stellar results! I try from time to time, but struggle with the whole loop concept… but I may be trying to tie new technology to old musical concepts.

    So, either I am too far gone to benefit from these loop packs, or they will be just the ticket to unlock a new avenue of expression… only Hy2rogen will know for sure!

  5. 5 Graham Vasquez
    December 22, 2010 at 19:15

    Just because. I’m always looking for new inspiration, anything from loops, to new effects, to new instruments, so on and so forth. So really I have to “real” reason, but that I think they would be nice to have.

  6. 6 Robert Zantay
    December 22, 2010 at 19:37

    I’m developing a new style of music based on loops and combining the improvisational diciplines of Jazz with the loop based compositions. I’ve found that completely new directions can be found by using this idea to realize compositions.

  7. 7 Jesse wolff
    December 22, 2010 at 20:17

    hey,
    here’s my plea um a couple years back i started this whole music thing, i stared playing the guitar but my love really ended up being producing, mixing and working with D.A.W’s anyways i love sounds and my ableton could always use some more sounds,loops sice iam curently awaiting a US visa/saving for school in nyc at dubspot and i cold really use tho’s loops to help build some tracks for my portfolio.
    thanks

  8. December 22, 2010 at 21:03

    Because my realy name is Dorothy and like I always say … ‘There’s no place like Ohm’ πŸ™‚

  9. 9 nate stephens
    December 22, 2010 at 21:06

    …b/c i don’t own a single sample collection (no, honestly), never used one, steer away from using presets, etc. so far i use only presets i create and samples i personally record. it would be my first and only sample set. i think it’d have the same effect on my creative direction as someone who lives off sample sets then field records for the first time.

  10. 10 pfree
    December 22, 2010 at 21:34

    Because I’m going to take the samples and not process them or edit them in anyway and construct masterpieces and claim them to be my own

  11. December 22, 2010 at 22:40

    Because I swear I make beats that make the bitches go insane.

  12. 12 Ed Ten Eyck
    December 23, 2010 at 03:50

    I would like to load them into my Roland SPD-S to use with live guitar and drums. Also to see what kind of creations I can make with them using Acid & Fl Studio. They sound great from what I’ve heard of the demos! Sounds very inspiring!

  13. 13 Alvis the Impaler
    December 23, 2010 at 05:10

    My own sorry attempts at beat creating are dismal
    but I know deep down inside that I really do have the
    boogie in my soul. With these awesome sample packs I
    will be able to create a new force in super funkiness
    the likes of which have never been heard before. Without
    them I will possibly be nothing.
    Please pick me.

  14. 14 E.
    December 23, 2010 at 10:26

    I’m looking for inspiration on using Ohm tools.

  15. 15 Adam
    December 23, 2010 at 12:09

    Because christmas is near,yesterday I had birthday and I didn’t get any gift.Oh(m) and I’m making some digital noise πŸ™‚

  16. December 23, 2010 at 18:02

    For me am a melody man, I’m mainly good in creating harmony (chords progression and melody) ans because I get stuck very fast if I don’t get ideas moving therefore I am greatful for loops and sound patches which inspire me and grow my idea into a song. It’s such a big difference in having many ideas on your harddrive or a few great songs. Living in a time where traditional bands have made place for single man productions, having people who take care of the details makes all the difference.

  17. 17 Sean Corbett
    December 23, 2010 at 20:27

    When you get down to it, over-processing is the problem with a lot of music, but nowhere is it more evident than modern electronic. Every thing sounds so compressed and flavorless, that it’s (to draw a horrid analogy) a bit like eating a candy bar. Sure, at first it “tastes” great, but in the end you just end up dissatisfied and empty. I have respect for your attitude regarding production, and I share in it. The key is to shape sounds to fit the musical idea, not to make a floor banger that gives you a headache when you hear it because everything’s been squashed, bitcrushed, and pushed to the breaking point.

    I’ll admit, I’m not poor in terms of equipment. I’ve got some outboard here n’ there, as well as a hefty sample collection, and some other goodies. I usually like to create the lead and bass sounds from scratch too, so why get down on my knees and beg for a sample pack? Better yet, why even use a sample pack? Well, first there’s the drums. I rely on sample packs here because they can provide a solid backbone from which to customize and build up the drums. Also, since most sample pack drums have been pre-processed, it discourages that “over-processing” habit. Sample pack drums allow me to quickly throw down some good sounds so I can get to working on the music rather than fiddling with compressors, EQ’s or such. Then, if I want to, I can go back and build upon or even replace the sample pack drums used. It’s a workflow thing just as much as part of my sound.

    Then there’s the bass, leads, and FX from sample packs. Why use those? Well, there’s something to be said for taking note of what other folks might be doing. The sounds in a sample pack give me a clue as to what other musicians or producers might be thinking or feeling at the moment. It’s good to have your own sound and all, but it’s rather difficult to develop your own sound without first recognizing, appreciating, and deconstructing what others are doing. Sample pack sounds are also ripe for mutation and experimentation. He’s not in the genre of the sample packs you’re giving away, but Amon Tobin has things right on this one I think. The goal is to take whatever sample material you can find or create, and twist it to fit the musical idea. Twist, bend, break, and remold it to fit the music. Now, one might think I’m beginning to contradict my earlier agreement with the “no over-processing” approach. That’s why you have to be crafty when twisting a sound, use only what you need to get the result you want, not just things to make it “different”. Sometimes, a mere musical recontextualization of a sample just by what type of music its being used in our sound surround it is enough.
    m
    So enough of my ranting, and a happy non-denominational holiday to all you Ohm heads. I’m getting my lazy toosh back to work on a little ditty I’m working with.

  18. December 25, 2010 at 05:12

    Because today it’s Xmas πŸ˜‰

  19. December 26, 2010 at 12:59

    I, along with Colin Mansfield (Fine Art, Sound Commandos), teach a music technology course for middle school students (13 – 15 year olds).
    In this class we introduce students to basic music composition, recording and mixing strategies. This introduction relies heavily on studying the workflow practices of working artists and producers. Your sample packs will influence the artists of tomorrow.
    Another facet of this course is imparting the importance of respecting artist’s copyright.
    We do not allow students to bring in pirated audio samples, so depend heavily on legally shared samples.
    Thank you for considering our request!

  20. 20 muzaku
    December 28, 2010 at 03:04

    ’cause I’m a musimphomaniac.I gotta touch THEM,I gotta feel THEM with my MUzPUTER.

  21. 21 Antonio Ettorre
    December 28, 2010 at 18:19

    Because I am a student with no money to buy good sample packs πŸ˜₯

  22. 22 Ron Alientrancemaster Williams
    February 15, 2011 at 06:17

    I too, wish to be Godlike


Leave a Reply

